Threads of the Pattern

Top 10 Summer Crafts, TotP Style, 2012

Posted on: June 12, 2012

Every year, I try to plan our summer vacation. And every year, I’m thwarted by bad weather, mismatched vacation times and lack of proper crafting supplies. So this year, I decided to pick out the things I’d like to make (most of them with the kids) and hope for the best!

10. Melted Crayon Canvas

This is as close to being a fancy artist as I’ll ever get. I want to hang this in my newly remodeled bathroom when it’s finished!

9. Handmade Sidewalk Chalk

Sure, you can buy sidewalk chalk at the dollar store…but this is Hand. Made. I want to try and use pieces of the cardboard roll my bathroom floor came in to make the biggest piece of sidewalk chalk ever! So full of win!

8. Pillowcase Dress

I foresee my 1 year old niece having a closet full of these by summer’s end!

7.  Floaty Balls of String

Ok…that’s not what they’re called. But it was either that or “Floaty String Goodness”.  I want to make a bunch of these, get a string of white Christmas lights and hang them around my pool deck. This vision was met with various levels of wow, from “Omg!” to “You still haven’t finished my knitted socks.” (Thanks, Uncle Jim.)

6. Rag Rug, via Hula Hoop

Remember those pot holder crafts we used to make? The ones that ended up being about 3 inches square and not appropriate for any kind of hot surface? My mom’s pot holder drawer was full of them when I was 9! This is a much, much larger version of that, and I totally can’t wait to see if my kids and I can make it!

5. Homemade Play Dough

Thank you, Erika the SAHM, for giving us this year’s attempt at homemade play Doh. Every summer we end up tossing old, hard Play Doh and making our own version, to various degrees of success. This year, we’re using this one.

4. Handmade Journals

Recently, my sister’s boyfriend had a birthday. I really wanted to make him a handmade gift, but came across this journal, made from a game board too late to do it.  I am so excited to make these, and am already planning one for each person in my family for Christmas.

3. Superhero Cape

My 7 year old son is obsessed with superheroes and Jedi at the moment. I have been eyeing up the instructions for this cape for 4 months now! I really would like to have one made for him this summer (he is requesting Batman) and maybe a Robin cape for my sister’s boyfriend. The only thing holding me back is the fear that he will never take it off again.

2. Hair Chalking!

Both of my girls and I would love to have some brightly colored hair, but unfortunately, age prevents us. (They’re too young, I’m too ‘old’) We bought some sidewalk chalk to experiment with, but I think I’ll end up going to the art store to get art chalk, as it seems to work the best according to the websites I’ve checked out.

1. Beaded Bracelets

I recently found a box I have had since I was 16, containing a bazillion seed beads. This led to an obsession with relearning how to make beaded bracelets. Crafting ADHD has once again reared it’s ugly head, and I have trolled too many websites and books to mention since then. Hopefully, this one will turn out to be The One!

As summer wears on and we discover new things, I’m sure there will be other things to do. My son, for instance, has me saving gallon milk jugs for something spectacular that he isn’t willing to divulge just yet. He’s mentioned piggy banks and jetpacks, though, so I’m sure it will be interesting at the least! What crafts are you most excited about? What’s on your Crafting List for summer? Please post pictures of anything you’ve made or are planning to make this summer!

3 Responses to "Top 10 Summer Crafts, TotP Style, 2012"

Ooohhh . . . fun! Thanks for the list! 🙂

Thanks for checking us out! Hope you stop back by to see what kind of progress I can make with the list this summer!

[…] successfully report that we have tried none of them. Yes…you read that correctly, none of my Top Ten Crafts were done this summer! Looking back, I think perhaps that list was a bit overzealous, considering […]

Leave a Reply

A Crafting Blog from the Beginners, for the Beginners.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 75 other followers

Check Out Our Crafts on Flickr!

Follow us on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

