Threads of the Pattern

Yummy Microwave Blueberry Muffins

Posted on: July 27, 2012

 

Yesterday, I saw a recipe on Pinterest for making a breakfast muffin in a coffee cup in the microwave. I thought it was a great idea and decided to try it.

Well, not everything you find on the internet (no not even on Pinterest) is the most awesome thing, shall we say?

 

So I went hunting for a more enjoyable recipe, and ended up on Midwestern Moms.


I modified the recipe a bit. I used twice as much melted butter as oil. In place of the flour, salt and baking powder, I used self rising flour, because I rarely have need of it, and wanted to use it up.

 

This version takes a little longer in the microwave (in mine, it was 4minutes) than most of the other recipes, but it’s totally worth it. As a side note, taking pictures of something cooking inside a microwave is way more difficult than I thought it would be.  I didn’t actually count the number of pictures I took, but I feel instinctively sure that it was 3, 121. So, please ignore the door grate and just look at how far the batter rose in the cup while it was cooking.

They don’t really have the taste or texture of an oven baked muffin, but they are perfect for breakfast because what they do taste and feel like, are really good pancakes.

Next time, I’ll try topping them with a little maple syrup.

 

Things I learned:

  1. Don’t fill the cup more than halfway, or it will rise up too much out of the cup, and spill over. Worse, it won’t cook all the way through.
  2. Use multiple cups. I used the same one three times, and the cup got too hot to touch after the second time through the microwave.
  3. I still have the urge to count like The Count sometimes. Three! Three microwave blueberry muffins! Ah!Ah!Ah!

Microwave Blueberry Muffins

Ingredients

1/2 c Self-Rising Flour
2 1/2 Tbsp Sugar
1 Egg
4 Tbsp melted butter
2 Tbsp Milk
Small dash of Vanilla
4-6 oz container of yogurt (vanilla or flavor to match your fruit)
Fruit of your choice (I used blueberries,  with blueberry yogurt)

Mix everything except the fruit together in a bowl, or my preference of very large measuring cup. (It has a pour spout and handle!) Fold in fruit.

Fill your coffee cup(s) of choice about halfway. Place in microwave and heat for 3-4 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in the center does out clean of batter.

Top with syrup and eat right out of the cup, or swirl a fork around the side of the cup and turn out on to a plate.

Enjoy!

 

~ Rosie

2 Responses to "Yummy Microwave Blueberry Muffins"

Thanks for the mention! Aren’t these so easy and yummy? We love them here at our house! I’ve even thought about trying to sub applesauce for the butter to see how it would turn out since I’m on a health kick lately. 😉

Ooo! Cinnamon and diced apples added to that would probably make super tasty muffins! I think I know what I’m trying next week. 😀

Leave a Reply

A Crafting Blog from the Beginners, for the Beginners.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 75 other followers

Check Out Our Crafts on Flickr!

Follow us on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

