Threads of the Pattern

Strawberry Coffee Cake

Posted on: August 3, 2012

This coffee cake is not my recipe. In fact, it’s the first coffee cake I’ve ever made. I got the recipe from a fabulous blog I love, called Diamonds For Dessert. Seriously, if you love to bake, you need to follow Susan. And I’m not just saying that because she also loves Ender’s Game and Back to the Future.

It’s just good stuff.

I made a red velvet/cream cheese frosting cake for a friend’s low-key wedding a few days before this. So I had a ton of strawberries and cream cheese left, because I can’t seem to stop myself from buying everything on the shelves for whatever it is I need to bake. I guess I’ve not gotten enough a few too many times.  Don’t ask how many boxes of light brown sugar I have. I think it would give you diabetes just looking at it.

First, you mix up your crumb topping. I’ve done this before; I love crumb topping. It makes me happy just to see pictures of crumb topping!

Then you mix together all the rest of your ingredients in that way that you do when you’re baking. (Wet together first, then add the dry to the wet.) I’m not going into too much detail, because it’s not my recipe. Also, look at my lovely Sunbeam Mixmaster. That poor thing. I think if you look closely enough you can see the smoke coming out of the vent from the severe overuse I put it through. I’ve had it for about 10 years, but if mixers could talk, he’d say he felt 90, I’m sure. (Yes, he, for the same reason that ships are male. ) Allow me to quote obnoxiously for a moment:

“A ship is alive, and he is like a man, with a true man’s heart. Treat him well and care for him properly, and he will fight for you against the worst sea. He will fight to keep you alive even after the sea has long since given him his deathstroke. Neglect him, though, ignore the small warnings he gives of danger, and he will drown you in a flat sea beneath a cloudless sky.”  Jorin din Jubai White Wing, pg 296, The Shadow Rising, Robert Jordan.

Ahem.

So once you have your batter mixed, put half of it in the bottom of your greased pan and slather it with jam. Not only is it tasty, but it’s fun to say slather. Then line up your strawberries in a covering layer. Then put the rest of your batter on top of that and smoosh it around until it covers all the strawberries. The directions say you can use a spatula or your fingers, but trust me on this and just skip the spatula.

Yummy crumb topping is next! Bake it all up and you get a lovely, light and fluffy cake that is absolutely scrumptious. Since I had more leftover strawberries (seriously, guys and gals, I have a PROBLEM.), I put two little slices on each square. This thing held up surprisingly well to sitting out on my butcher block, traveling in the car in plastic baggies and being passed around to various people!

Things I learned:

1. Coffee cake does not have coffee in it. I really thought that! It’s the sole reason why I have never even looked at a coffee cake recipe until now!

2. I should possibly not type blog posts when I’m sleepy. I get a little silly.

3. The picture below is while making the red velvet cake. There is a very good reason why I only do my baking when my husband is not at home:

~Rosie

2 Responses to "Strawberry Coffee Cake"

Wow, this looks so yummy! =)

I know! And the recipe is really very simple! 😀

Leave a Reply

A Crafting Blog from the Beginners, for the Beginners.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 75 other followers

Check Out Our Crafts on Flickr!

Follow us on Twitter!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

